Heading to Orlando for SWS/INTECOL

I’m off tomorrow for the joint meeting of the Society of Wetland Scientists (SWS) and the International Association for Ecology (INTECOL) in Orlando, Florida.  SWS has really become my intellectual home over the years, and I’m excited to catch up with friends and colleagues.

I’ll be presenting a talk on the humic acid research taking place in our lab entitled, “The role of humic substances as terminal electron acceptors in peatland decomposition.”  Post-doc Kim Takagi and past undergraduate student Crissy Anderson are co-authors on this talk.  I’m giving the presentation in a session that I helped to organize focusing on methane dynamics in peatland ecosystems.

I’m also thrilled to have been asked to sit an a professional development panel entitled, Taking the next step: tips for navigating the post-graduate job market.”  SWS is a great meeting for networking and for students (next year I hope to bring some Chapman students!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.